I was tagged to participate in this by Suzanne Robb, Permuted Press author among other things… her blog can be found here, and is worth reading.

1. What am I working on?

Currently I am finishing the first book of a Science Fiction trilogy for Permuted Press.  It’s called Black Horizon, and will be followed by the books The Long Dark, and The Serpent Sun.  I also just today fleshed out a short outline (notes, really) for a book about cosmicism and population relocation, which has the working title of Discontinuity.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I think that is hard to quantify.  Since we all take different things away from our experiences, be they music or film or literature, what I think is different about my work, someone else may see as derivative.  For example, in the last book I published, Dead Inside, I mixed up the viewpoints, using first person for one character and third person for everyone else.  I also write in a solidly Canadian setting, which sets it appart from the gamut of American-centered apocalyptic books.  But hey, there are plenty of other places where the apocalypse has been set, right?  Like Britain, or even Spain.

3. Why do I write what I do?

For the fun.  I come from a background of storytelling in role-playing games like Dungeons and Dragons, Traveller, In Nomine, Gamma World, GURPS, etc.  I usually ended up as GM, telling the stories that I wanted to tell, and letting the players experience the world I built.  So novels are, for me, just a way to tell those tales without pesky players messing up my plots!

Not to say that the book characters don’t do that, and often.  I cannot tell you how many times a book character has derailed a storyline on me, taking a book somewhere I never expected.

4. How does my writing process work?

Ooh, a hard question!  I write by hand.  I carry a journal with me, writing in it when I get the chance.  I have written two and a half books this way.

SPOILER ALERT:  If you look closely at the picture you might get a spoiler about the last half of my next book.  DO NOT click and Zoom on it unless you want to ruin that for yourself.  So, ignore this picture.  Move along, Citizen.

Image

A lot gets rewritten and edited before it gets into the computer, and I have even scrapped entire chapters and rewritten them.  So the pages shown above have been heavily changed, and may reflect only a tiny portion of the actual text.

I’m a character driven writer, also not one who plots every little thing out before hand.  I let the characters go where they will, and I follow them to see what happens.  I usually know how a book will begin and how it will end, but the path between those points can be a strange and difficult one.  And as has happened to me, letting the characters drive the plot has resulted in endings changed or expanded, usually for the better.  It happened in Dead Inside, and it’s happening again with Black Horizon.  My original endings for both books, while looking good on a rough outline, read much better now that the characters arrived at them naturally rather than be forced there by plot necessity.  It’s also interesting that the endings of both those books have changed so substantially but retained the spirit I intended, while opening a lot of possibilities for further works.

I get little time to actually write, since I work a regular job to pay the bills.  Sometimes I can get the free time to get several hours a day in, but usually it’s an hour or less.  I don’t mind.  I’m ahead of schedule for this first book in the series, so I have time to do rewrites and fix a few dangling plot holes. 

 

And that’s me.  I was supposed to tag three other writers to follow after me and do this as well.  I simply didn’t have time to do that, so if you want to participate, simply copy the questions and fill in your own answers, then let me know and I’ll edit in a link to your page.  Have fun and keep writing!

